Lloyd Tayler was born in London in 1830. In 1851 he moved to Australia, first to Albury, NSW, and then the Mount Alexander goldfields. By 1854 he was living in Melbourne and had established an architectural practice, initially with Lewis Vieusseus, but by 1856 he was working on his own.

Tayler designed the Colonial Bank of Australasia and in the 1860s and 1870s a number of branches for the National Bank of Australasia (in Richmond, North Fitzroy, Warrnambool and Coleraine). He was also the architect of the Australian Club in Melbourne (1878), the Melbourne Exchange, and the New Zealand Loan and Mercantile Agency Co., Melbourne (1880). In 1874, with Edmund Wright, he won the competition for the South Australian Houses of Parliament (begun in 1881), and in 1890 Tayler and Alfred Dunn won a competition for the Melbourne head office of the Commercial Bank of Australia. Tayler also completed a number of domestic projects in Melbourne and Victoria.

Tayler was an inaugural member of the Victorian Institute of Architects (1856) and was admitted a fellow of the Royal Institute of British Architects in 1874. He was also a justice of the peace and a founder of the St John Ambulance Association in Victoria (1883).

Lloyd Tayler died in August 1900.

More Information