The Australasian Association for the Advancement of Science was originally established in 1888. It published its own journal, also named Australasian Association for Advancement of Science. In 1902 it established the Mueller Medal, in memory of Baron Ferdinand von Mueller, government botanist of Victoria and a prodigious collector of botanic specimens. Today the medal is awarded by the Association's successor, the Australian and New Zealand Association for the Advancement of Science (ANZAAS), for research into anthropology, botany, geology or zoology.

Australian Academy of Science website, accessed 21/10/2003.
University of Melbourne Bright Sparcs website, accessed 21/10/2003.

More Information