Rugby League was established in New South Wales in 1907, when Sydney players broke away from the Rugby Union over its rejection of compensation payments for injuries and lost wages. The New South Wales Rugby League (NSWRL) was responsible for the introduction of rugby league into Australia.

Key figures in the new movement included James Joseph Giltinan, cricketer Victor Trumper, Alec Burdon, Peter Moir, Labor politician Henry Hoyle, George Brackenregg and Jack Fenely.

Today the New South Wales Rugby League sits under the Australian Rugby League (ARL), the controlling body which governs national initiatives and international competition. The ARL also oversees Rugby Leagues in the other states. The ARL was a foundation member of the International Rugby League Board in 1948.

Major venues for Rugby League in Sydney are Stadium Australia and the Sydney Football Stadium (now called Aussie Stadium).

New South Wales Rugby League website

More Information