The Winston Churchill Memorial Trust is an Australian Trust established in 1965, the year Sir Winston Churchill died. The main purpose of the Trust is to perpetuate and honour the memory of Sir Winston Churchill through Travelling Fellowships, known as Churchill Fellowships.

A Churchill Fellowship provides financial support to enable ordinary Australians to undertake overseas study or an investigative project that cannot be readily undertaken in Australia. There are no prescribed qualifications, academic or otherwise, for the award of most Churchill Fellowships. Merit is the primary test, whether based on past achievements or demonstrated ability for future achievement in any walk of life. Benefit to Australia is a significant factor.

By 2003 more than 2,700 people had received Churchill Fellowships.

The first fellow travelled overseas in 1966. A medal issued in 1991 commemorated the silver jubilee of this event (NU 16888).

Winston Churchill Memorial Trust website

More Information