Note recording shipboard sightings, found within diary written by David Yuile who came to Victoria via New Zealand from Scotland on 21 September 1872. The diary contains daily entries which describe his departure, voyage, weeks in New Zealand, arrival in Victoria and life there until the diary abruptly ends on 9 May 1874.

Yuile's descriptions of life in Melbourne during the 1870s are particularly engaging, with references to rowing regattas, visits to the library, gallery and museum, domestic and cultural entertainments, sporting events such as the Melbourne Cup and cricket at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

David Yuile was born in Glasgow, Scotland on 24 April 1849, the son of a wine merchant. Suffering from a chronic respiratory condition, his doctors recommended a long sea voyage and in September 1872, at 23 years of age, David boarded the 'City of Dunedin' headed for Dunedin. He arrived in Otago Bay in New Zealand on 30 December 1872 and remained in Dunedin, living on board the ship, until 25 January 1873 when he left for Melbourne on the 'SS Albion'. He arrived in Melbourne on 6th February 1873 where he stayed with his cousins the Hendersons at 'Myrtle Bank' on the Maribyrnong River in Footscray. He seems to have suffered bouts of ill health but spent his time planting trees and a vegetable garden at Myrtle Bank and assisting the family with business affairs. He was also involved in rowing regattas on the Maribyrnong.

On 21 November 1876 David married Martha Miller in Yarraville. By this time David was engaged in importing art and also had shares in the Australian Ruby Company. The couple had five daughters all born in Footscray, but at the time of David's death the family was living in Camberwell. David died on 12 January 1889 of consumption at the age of 39 and was buried in Kew. He left Martha and his five daughters aged from 3 to 11 years well provided for.

Physical Description

Loose piece of paper recording observations made at sea. Handwritten in pencil on torn piece of loose paper.

More Information