Mounted photograph of the Rockhampton Labour Day celebration union in 1921. Delegates absent from the photograph: T. Lynch, J.G.O Muller, J. Kaine, F.J Conlon, R. McCarthy, H. Smith, A. Lucas, E.R Thorpe, J.F Clarke, Thomas Lee, F. Williams and W. Brown.

Part of a collection relating to Australian trade unions and the Eight Hour Day. Action taken by stonemasons on 21 April 1856 led to the establishment of the Eight Hour Day, with the government agreeing that workers employed on public works should enjoy an eight hour day with no loss of pay. It was a world first and became emblematic of the rights of labour. In recognition of the significance of this achievement, April 21 was made a public holiday in 1879 and commemorative marches were held each year from 1879 until 1951. The Eight Hour Day holiday was renamed Labour Day in 1934. In 1955 the Labour Day march and celebrations were replaced by Moomba celebrations.

Description of Content

Portrait of a group of men and a few women in a photo studio. The men are dressed in suits and ties while the women are in dresses. Each person has a badge shaped like Australia pinned to their clothing.

Physical Description

Photograph mounted on un-dyed cardboard, with black/grey printed inscriptions along top and bottom of mount.

More Information