Cycling award won by Hubert Opperman, 1924. Dunlop. Warrnambool to Melbourne. Fastest Time - 7 hrs. 15 mins. 35 secs. Red, white & blue on gold.

Because the crowds were so large for the Warrnambool to Melbourne, the finishing line had to be concealed until the last moment to prevent disruption to the riders. Opperman was up against some fierce competitors, including a number of veterans (notably, W.F. King - who secured first place, but did not have the fastest time).

Opperman's time of just over 7 hours was but 3 minutes ahead of the1909 record set by R.R. Munro.

More Information