1 Penny, Issued by, British West Africa, 1913
Minted by Royal Mint, London

Obverse Description

An imperial crown above a central circular hole with a scroll ornament to right and left; below crown, ONE PENNY; around, outside the scroll ornaments, GEORGE V KING ET IND: IMP:; below hole in Arabic, the denomination

Reverse Description

Around circular central hole, Solomon's seal, consisting of two equilateral triangles interlaced; around, BRITISH WEST AFRICA 1913

Edge Description



British West Africa was a grouping of four seperate British colonies - Nigeria, Sierra Leone, Ghana (originally Gold Coast) and Gambia.

More Information