1 Obol, Issued by Ionian Islands, Greece, 1819
Minted by Royal Mint, London

Obverse Description

Winged lion of St. Mark facing to left holding Bible and seven arrows; below, 1819; around above in Greek, IONIKON KPATOS

Reverse Description

Britannia seated facing left; W at centre of ground line; above, BRITANNIA.

Edge Description



The United States of the Ionian Islands was formed on 14 November 1815 and was made up of seven principal islands: Corfu, Cephalinia, Zante, Santa Maura, Ithica, Cerigo and Paxo, these islands are represented by the seven arrows held by the winged lion of St. Mark (a Venetian symbol reflecting the Venetian control of the islands from 1401 until 1797)

More Information