30 Lepta, Issued by Ionian Islands, Greece, 1862
Minted by Royal Mint, London

Obverse Description

At centre within an oak wreath, 30; around above in Greek, IONIKON KRATOS; below, 1862

Reverse Description

Britannia seated facing right with shield and trident; above, BRITANNIA.

Edge Description



The United States of the Ionian Islands was formed on 14 November 1815 and was made up of seven principal islands: Corfu, Cephalinia, Zante, Santa Maura, Ithica, Cerigo and Paxo, these islands are represented by the seven arrows held by the winged lion of St. Mark (a Venetian symbol reflecting the Venetian control of the islands from 1401 until 1797).

More Information