A copper coin issued in the Roman Province of Macedonia in the period 41-54 AD
Under Roman Imperial rule, time of Claudius
Reference: BMC. Macedon p.27 No.145
Die axis: 09

Obverse Description

Head of Claudius bare facing left, around in Greek (mostly off flan or corroded away) {[ti.klausios] KAISAR}

Reverse Description

Macedonian shield with the legend in Greek around, {[ma]KEDONON SEBA [stoy]}

Edge Description



The Roman province of Macedonia was officially established in 146 BC, after the four client republics established by Rome in the region were dissolved, the new province incorporated ancient Macedonia, Epirus, Thessaly, and parts of Illyria, Paeonia and Thrace.

More Information