Silver coin; Denomination: Shilling
Tower Mint, London.
Commonwealth of England, Oliver Cromwell, (1653-1658)

The Tower Mint had been ceased by the Parliament in 1642 but it continued to Mint in the name of Charles I until the monachy was abolished by Parliament in 1649. The Denomination is indicated by the Roman numeral VI above the shields on the reverse.

Obverse Description

Within a wreath of palm and laurel a shield bearing the cross of St. George; around, (mm. sun) COMMONWEALTH OF ENGLAND

Reverse Description

Within a beaded inner circle two conjoined shields, the one on the left bearing the cross of St. George and on the right, the Irish Harp; above, the denomination in pence, VI; around, GOD WITH VS 1654

Edge Description


More Information