Copper-Nickel pattern for a coin; Denomination: Penny
Royal Mint, London
Queen Victoria (1837-1901)

The circulation copper penny with Britannia on the reverse was struck for Queen Victoria between 1839 and 1859. It was discontinued in 1860 when it was replaced by a smaller bronze penny. This pattern was part of a rejected series of experimental coins prepared in 1859.

Obverse Description

At centre within beaded circle, crown; around, VICTORIA D: G: BRIT: REGINA F: D:; below in smaller characters, 1859

Reverse Description

At centre within a laurel wreath the numeral 1

Edge Description


More Information