Trinity College, founded by the Church of England, is located in the grounds of the University of Melbourne. It has been home to resident and non-resident students since 1872. In 1877 the Trinity College Theological School was founded, and in 1886 the College became the first university college in Australia to admit women students as residents, albeit in the separate Trinity Women's Hostel, later renamed Janet Clarke Hall. In 1961 Janet Clarke Hall was separated from Trinity College, and in 1974 Trinity began to admit women on a co-residential basis. In 1989 the Trinity College Foundation Studies Program was initiated to prepare international students for undergraduate study at the University. In 2000 the Trinity College Learning Innovation Centre was established.

Trinity College website, dated accessed 6 October 2011

More Information