1 Penny, Issued by, Nigeria and British West Africa, 1908
Minted by Royal Mint, London
Struck in copper-nickel

Obverse Description

An imperial crown above a central circular hole with a scroll ornament to right and left; below crown, ONE PENNY; around, outside the scroll ornaments, EDWARD VII KING & EMPEROR; below hole in Arabic, the denomination

Reverse Description

Around circular central hole, Solomon's seal, consisting of two equilateral triangles interlaced; around, NIGERIA BRITISH WEST AFRICA 1908

Edge Description



British West Africa was a grouping of four seperate British colonies - Nigeria Sierra Leone, Ghana (originally Gold Coast) and Gambia. From 1907 till 1911 the obverse of the coins took the form NIGERIA- BRITISH WEST AFRICA then from 1912 the word NIGERIA was discontinued. Vice (p.84) reports a Government official in 1912 stating that 'the ordinary native lives on 1 1/4 d. a day'.

More Information