Alternative Name(s): Button

In the period around 1960s-1980s, many protest movements were pushing to have Australia declared a Nuclear-Free zone. The Treaty of Rarotonga, or the South Pacific Nuclear Free Zone Treaty was signed in 1986, with Australia as an initiator. It bans the use, testing, and possession of nuclear weapons within the borders of the area.

Physical Description

Printed badge, circular, black, white ink. Front: cream background. c., black circle outline, ink thicker around the top. c.l., circle is white dove. u.c., surrounding top & bottom outer edge of circle is text. Back: vertical fastening pin.

More Information